Not: 150. The one that got away!

A very British failure!
Despite the sound of howling winds this morning, I knew, even though the odds were strongly against me, I had to get out there. My destination was a disused quarry high up on the Peak District moors - following a week-old report of a Great Grey Shrike or Butcher Bird. Pete said he 'd come with me, even though he said he wasn't sure he could cope with the tears, tantrums and disappointment of failure. "I'll be fine" I said. "I wasn't talking about you" he replied.
By the time we arrived at the spot, not only was it a howling gale, but the rain was lashing down. There was a solitary car parked close by. We looked round the area, but conditions were so bad that after a short time, we decided we were wasting our time, so returned to the car. At this point the occupier of the nearby car came over and asked if we were looking for the Shrike. He was a local birder and said the bird was around - he had seen it earlier. We put our boots and waterproofs back on and set off again. After a short walk, Pete announced that he'd spotted it on a fence post. Sure enough, there it was! I wrestled to get out my camera from its protective layers. Of course, by the time I'd got it out, the bird had flown. We hung around for a while longer, but then we decided we were quite wet enough and set off back. We drove home via a site which had failed to yield a marsh tit a week or two ago. Still a no-show.
Oh well. It's been an adventure. Thanks to those who shared it with me: Pete for the support, Andy for the tips and IDs, Jackie and Jean (@DarkPeakBirder) for messages via Twitter, and not last but not least, the lovely people on Blip who have given me such encouragement on my quest.
There will be a No. 150 - just not today.

I'm not a big fan of Christmas, but I do like New Year - new beginnings. We'll have a nice meal later then a glass of something bubbly on the patio at midnight, and watch the fireworks over our fair city. No twitching tomorrow. Just a nice lie in.
All the very best to everyone for 2013!

ps. The Shrike was a lifer :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.