madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Beauties!

I nearly missed Oscar's playdate today! After a quick walk with Oscar it was off to open the hens. The Dr was there and she gave me two tomato plants so as well as watering my squash and the plants in the plastic greenhouse I planted the two of them amongst my squash. It was already begining to get quite hot! I mooched back to the car and to my horrow realised it had gone 10! I raced home and grabbed Oscar and headed for the field! 
As I parked my car I noticed these beauties in the field on the opposite side of the road, so after Oscar and Ivy had their alloted hour of fun I went across the road to photograph them. They all watched me but didn't moove - far too hot. They seemed particularly large, possibly intended for meat not milking? Poor cows.   I was intrigued by their necklaces so looked them up on getting home. Apparently they are "Udderly Clever"! They monitor activity, rumination and eating, "research showed that if a cow's eating and rumination drops by 30%, she is at high risk for early stages of a health problem. At this default point, the decrease in activity is immediately reported through a wireless system to the farm. The dairy farmer can then choose to take immediate action." I think I could do with one of them!
The giving of eye drops to Oscar is getting very problematic - I'm having to close him in the small area between the front and hall door and straddle him. He is begining to barr his teeth at me and is beyond distressed. Tomorrow I will take him back to the vets and see if they can administer them or give an alternative treatment before our relationship suffers. At around this age a dog can develop phobias and the last thing I need is for him to be scared of me and one if not both of us are in danger of getting injured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.