But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Veteran.

Today was the best weather of the year! The Old Lady insisted I go out cycling, reluctantly, I agreed and left before she had time to change her mind.
I knew just what I wanted for a blip, there's some wonderful street art in Banksie's home town and I was intent on capturing one. Then I met a couple of guys on sit-up-and-beg bikes wearing plus-fours, tweed jackets, dear-stalker hats and shiny black brogues, they were on their way to a meet of the South-West Veteran Cycle Club, the term veteran referring to the cycles not the riders.
They all met up at Bitton railway station cafe and that was where I got the blip; Bitton has several miles of track and is always open on bank holidays for the tourist trade; for a small fee you can buy a real card ticket and go on a steam train as far as the end of the line and back, you get you ticket punched and everything. It takes about 15 minutes and you could run it in less time.

I didn't find the owner of the bike before the club left, so I can only surmise the details:
it might (or might not) have been a Raleigh from about 1900 (within an indeterminate number of years). You will note that the acetylene lamp is mounted on a nifty little suspension system, the Sturmey (probably) gear change lever is on the top tube (could be nasty in a mishap, what ever your sex) and the front brake lever (on the left) couples with a con-rod that goes down the centre of the steerer to the brake and mudguard - both of which lift when you wish to stop. The essential brolly, seen behind the lamp, hooks over the handlebar and fits into a clip on the front fork.

The bike is also interesting at the other end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.