Shetland Aets

A cloudy morning, but it soon cleared into a sunny and warm day.  The mist came down over the South Mainland about 4pm, but a sunny evening in Scalloway.  

I had a great night at the wedding, but felt it today!  I've been working at the Croft House Museum all day, and it's been busy.  20 folk arrived as soon as I opened at 10am.  Taking things easy this evening, catching up with telly, some walkies with Sammy, and the sofa seems like a grand idea.

Ian and Margaret invited me over for lunch, and the meal was much needed by then.  After lunch, I had a brisk walk around their croft, as it was such a lovely day.  Ian's always got plenty of traditional ways of crofting going on.  He grows old Shetland aets (corn), which he then grinds in his traditional water mill, then makes delicious bannocks from the flour.  I'll have to get a photo of him in the mill.  Taken at Troswick, Dunrossness.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.