Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Seductive

"Seductive" -- that's is the word I could not think of two days ago when I wrote my "celebration blip." I mentioned then that for the first 2 1/2 years as a member of Blipfoto, I had been thoroughly addicted to the whole blip experience and that's the truth.

But I think a better description is that this Blipfoto website/community is seductive. We fall in love with this "thing" called blipping -- well, I did -- I loved every part of it. Really I did (I still do). We can't stay away from what we love; it's a seductive relationship.

What I have liked least about blipping is posting a photo. I mean, I have had fun capturing photos, but I really know so little about photography. Maybe I should be embarrassed (after 4-years of blipping) to admit this. That part was my least favorite.

I thoroughly enjoy the writing (actually I enjoy that part after I've done it).

The commenting, though, was so exhilarating. To look at another person's photo, to read his or her words, and then to write a positive meaningful comment -- I loved doing that (and still do). I didn't have to "grade" their work. Because grading student papers is a large portion of what I do in my career and because I have to tell students when they've made mistakes, I find making comments on their papers not so fun and certainly not exhilarating, unless they've submitted astounding papers (and that is rare). Commenting here in Blipfoto is lots of fun.

Getting comments is even more exhilarating. To get a personal message from some other person, someone I have never met, and most likely never will meet, is a uniquely meaningful and rare experience. It's validating and encouraging and absolutely wonderful.

So I think this Blipfoto experience is as much seductive as it is addictive. I'm not sure if that will make sense to anyone else, but it does to me. Since this is my page, I guess that's okay.

Today I would have been hard-pressed to convince others that the photographing is my least favorite part -- as I stood in the flower bed just outside of the Staples Office Supply Store crouching and stooping and trying for the best angle on the beautiful white roses blooming right there in public and almost no one noticing them. I love white. White flowers are so uniquely beautiful. I love white tulips, white roses, white carnations . . . I enjoy all the other colors too, but white, it's just so seductive!

Good night from Seductive Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. It took me 2 and 1/2 years to get a grip on the seduction, to find some semblance of balance, to find my way back into life outside of Blipfoto, but I never completely gave-up the habit. Once a day I'm back here getting my "fix."

P.P.S. Yes, I'm feeling a little sassy on this Saturday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.