Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DIY

JR couldnae be bothered going to the gym fitness sessions this morning. Fair enough. Instead, she had breakfast in bed and I took Archie for his morning walk round the block (JR usually does this before the gym). We met Archie's pal, Hamish, a neighbourhood schnauzer that he loves. I always have to let Archie run along the pavement to him once he spots him, as he gets so excited. The morning sun was on the garden hedges, so Archie waited patiently while I faffed about taking photos.

I then watched the second half of the Japan/Ireland rugby match. And what a game. Well done Japan! It's great when the host nation team does well.

Still not achieving the perfect flat white, so I wanted to pop to the cafe for a fix. Archie once again attempted to hurry me by, but I was not to be deterred. JR was 'too busy' to come, but when I sent her a photo of my raspberry scone, she hot-footed it over in record time.

Once Elizabeth had taken Archie out for the afternoon, I set to with a few DIY jobs that have been pending. A bit of sanding and painting the mantelpiece in the bedroom. JR did a bit of scraping white paint off the original old fireplace tiles, and they're the traditional Marchmont dark green.

So you nearly had a raspberry scone today, but I settled on some dewy petals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.