Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day up the hill

Oh, I do like starting the day with a good game of rugby. And today's Wales/Australia game was excellent. Hard luck Oz - you nearly made it, but well done Wales.

I took Archie out first thing - JR's gym session is 10am on Sundays, so she had another lie in. I took some more photos of damp foliage. I'm quite impressed with the quality of the phone photos - this is unfaffed.

We both had a go at painting the bedroom fireplace. I used the 'wrong' white paint yesterday, so the next coat didn’t go on too well. JR doesn’t want a 'distressed' look... and so another coat was done. And maybe another one...

I took Archie up the hill, and noticed that the road was busier than usual. By the time I got to the top of the (narrow) road, I realised what was happening - Doors Open Day at the Observatory. By then I couldn’t turn round, but had to sit and wait for ages till I was directed to a space.

However, we did have a walk, and met a wee Schnauzer on a lead. She wasn’t allowed off as she chases off after squirrels. So glad Archie doesn’t do that (although he has other little foibles).

When he'd had his walk, I left him in the car and popped in to the Observatory. I wanted to have a peep in the new 'Higgs Centre', but they only had one (large) ground floor room open and it was mobbed. Lots of things for kids to do.

Scotland’s second match tomorrow. And I’m afraid after their last game, I won’t be putting a bet on them winning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.