Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

Atlantis for dates

Mum and dad decided they needed a few more dates to take back to NZ. We have investigated and discovered that if packaged correctly it should be fine to take them through NZ's (Very strict) customs. I sure hope so for them as they have spent a small fortune on dates!

Dates in Dubai are the best. Until you have tried them, you have not experienced their true flavour potential. We have discovered the best place to buy amazing dates is a shop called Bateel. They sell all sorts of date-related goodies like sparking date juice (It's a Muslim country after all), choc covered dates and date jams. The dates themselves can be filled with glorious gems like caramelised pecans and stem ginger. They are beyond delicious! We went to Atlantis to get to this shop, hence the photo of my dad, Maple and I in front of the water there.

In the afternoon, we took the twins to Al Barsha Park to burn off some energy at the fantastic playground there. Dad had another osteopath appointment (Highly recommended if anyone ever needs one in Dubai!). Mum cooked us all a lovely lasagne for dinner, we scoffed a few dates and then mum and I went for a walk around the running track at the bottom of our building. I am starting to feel the sadness of knowing my mum and dad are going back to NZ tomorrow. Life as an expat in Dubai can seem glamorous and exciting. The downside to me is that friend's and family are so far away. With three small children of my own, the goodbye's and trying times are more than difficult. It can be an isolating place. I can't wait to go home to NZ to be closer to my mum and dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.