The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Cuddles and the Body Doubles ..

My mum has dementia.

I moved in with her in November 2011. I bought her the middle teddy which has a microwaveable lavender bag in its tummy, to replace a very smelly wheat bag she was using.

However Cuddles (as is his/her name) has never seen the inside of a microwave as he/she has become mum's best friend.

When she very reluctantly needed to go for a week's respite, she said she wouldn't take Cuddles with her, because she was afraid he would be lost or stolen.

So I bought a couple of body doubles and mum took one of those - and I'm glad she did - she had it on her bedside table and talked to it every night.

In spite of Cuddles having a purple jumper (knitted by me!) .. and the others having different colour scarves, she finds it very hard to tell them apart.

It's a very odd thing, is dementia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.