'To my dear mother'

Today's the day …………………………… for remembrance

On 11th November, four years ago, I posted this blip about Will's great uncle Alcwyn. 

This card was sent by Alcwyn's brother Evan to their mother back in Wales - and it is in a big album of photographs, postcards and other sorts of cards that we've been looking at today.  It's a shame that there's nobody to ask now, who all the photographs are of - it's a bit of a guessing game.  But Will has been doing some online family history research recently which has been a great help - especially when he has got access to research already done by other people within the wider family tree.

The words inside the card say 'My heart is with you, and my thoughts every day - from your soldier boy, Evan'.  All the more poignant when I tell you that Evan never returned from the 1st World War.  He fought in the Battle of the Somme and died at Ypres, where he is buried …………………..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.