Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Brass man

A visit to the doctor this morning confirmed that no, I don’t have whooping cough - just a cough. JR had read up about it, after a couple of folk had mentioned it, and she was sure I had it. Phew. If it lasts another week, I’ve to revisit. 

Actually, I slept best last night, with just a couple of coughing sessions and listening to the radio at 2am.

The chaps who did our bathroom came to check the non-functioning underfloor heating. They're going to replace the thermostat thingy. Also the thermostat on the water temperature in the shower. It's been OK up till now, but we need it to go hotter. A new valve needed there too.

JR had her two gym sessions, and Isobel was to come for Archie, but when I set off to the doctor I texted her to say it wasn’t very pleasant out, so she called it off. I don’t want his walkers to feel they have to troop out in the wet. Mind you, Jordan has done so regardless of weather many times.

Our front door has been painted, but the 'furniture' needs to be re-brassed. Today we went across town to deliver the pile of old brass to the main man. We took Archie with us, reasoning that he'd rather do that than stay at home on his own (barking). He sits up and looks out, taking an interest in the route and the passing scenes. He seems to quite enjoy it...

We found the wee back lane with the wee lock up garage where the brass man worked. Fascinating! It was jam packed! Interesting stuff lying around waiting to be brassed, like old fireplaces. Outside the garage were several motor bikes belonging to the brass man (his hobby). This little beauty with the sidecar wasn’t his, but the owner parked it here during the day. I couldn’t get Archie to look at the camera, as the brass man had come out to watch what was going on, and Archie was a bit nervous. (And yes, I picked up every fag end, digitally).

Back across town, Archie did really well, despite the pot-holed and cobbled roads. As we came near home I got out to walk the last couple of blocks with him. Well done Archie.

... Then he was sick! 

I had a neat gin last night, as suggested by my wee Jersey pal, and I think it helped. I'm just about to pour this evening's one. I've also got some Vick's for bedtime, though I may not put it on the soles of my feet, as recommended by MaggieD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.