Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Penang City Hall

After two long and joyless ferry journeys, mainly because they seal you inside the ferries here and subject you to some pretty terrible movies, I finally arrived in Penang. The sight of this grassy, green park with children playing and this beautiful building completely cheered me out of my grizzly mood. First grass I have seen since leaving Britain. The sun shortly took its leave for the day and it was dark by the time I arrived at my hotel. The call to prayer rang out, veiled ladies ambled and that, along with a distinct lack of beer in the restaurant, reminded me I was in a very different culture all of a sudden.
I suspect it will also be quite touristy though so hopefully I won’t stick out like a sore thumb, although my thumb is still quite sore from an injury in July. Keeping my shoulder company. My eye injury, however, is healing and putting on quite a show of colours in the process.
I will follow the suns lead now and take my leave for the day, lots of exploring to be done tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.