Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

A day of...

...one step forwards, two steps back....

Got in to find that someone had been helping themselves to my milk out of the fridge (again). I wouldn't mind but there is a free drinks machine right next to the fridge. So, that got the day off to a great start.....

Afterwards, it was going swimmingly (well, on balance, honours even) by lunchtime. Despite not getting a critical application loaded on my laptop that everyone else loaded without problems, I'd managed to get some planning for a dataset needed for a departmental consultation exercise. Ninety minutes work flowed and resulted in a plan that we can use not just for that, but for the whole of the 15 month project. I'd intended pushing on a doing the first couple of test elements this afternoon. That's where my day's plan started to crumble to the ground...!

At lunch I took a ride into town to visit the cash machine, get a replacement bulb for my car and also get a blip. That last task seems to have gone OK.

Tried replacing said bulb (number plate) when it started going pear shaped. After I'd picked up the broken bit of plastic cover after trying to lever out the unit, I thought this wasn't going well. The extreme cold had made the plastic more brittle resulting in two parts not one - Oops. Off in search of some super-glue which in a building full of workshops proved far more difficult than expected, but, in the end, it was sorted.

Next - over the cliff edge.
On returning to my slave-pen desk, I found not one, not two but three critical tasks from the finance people seeking critical information and confirming facts for a presentation by the board tomorrow.
All were seemingly simple tasks, but, as I had a time limit of two hours to do all of them Got one done without any disasters. I then found that nobody was available anywhere to get the information. Typical. Not a single senior manager was available to consult. By a process of deduction, a couple of us managed to get together sufficient facts to prove that someone else's numbers were incorrect and that ours had been spot on all along. Nice feeling. Deadline met with two minutes to spare. Felt like I'd been through the wringer afterwards (if you know what a wringer is of course)!

Press "L" to leap in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.