Lala's Journal

By Lala

Turkey!

Today I caught up on family that I should have called over Christmas, but just didn’t find the time! My 92 year old aunt in Wales, and my brother in the New Forest.

I dissected the remains of the turkey and made 2 curries and 2 turkey and ham pies. We ate one of the pies for dinner and put the rest in the freezer. 

Two weeks ago I spent an afternoon making tiny bite size cheese scones to use as the centrepiece for my canapés starter on Christmas Day. Guess what we found in the freezer today?! 

We did a run to the tip as our wheelie bins are full and I walked Dog. I took a ball with me today. I haven’t been able to throw a ball for ages, with the frozen shoulder and thought I’d have a go today as he loves chasing one. The first throw and it hit a stone and went straight in the water. I only had trainers on so wasn’t venturing in to get it for him! The tide was on its way out and he never did reach it! He spent the rest of the walk searching at the waters edge for it! 

Nothing on tv this evening so I have spent a couple of hours with Rod Stewart, three programmes that I recorded last week. He’s still my favourite singer. I saw him once in 1973 in a tiny club, that was more like someone’s front room in Earls Court, and didn’t have to pay a penny as they needed more people and asked us to come in for free! Those were the days!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.