NYE

Well, politically speaking, I won't be casting any sentimental eyes or wasting many words on 2019; in the end, almost everything that could go wrong, did. It's so frustrating that under pretty much anyone other than the vain and stubborn Corbyn, the general election would have been a shoe-in for Labour. Just think where we could be right now! In that arena, I have no high hopes for 2020.

Still, it's been a good year, personally, to which I hope this blog is some testament. Many lovely times with the Minx, and my friends, and my family, all of whom are happy and in rude health. I really can't and don't ask for much more than that.

As to my resolutions from the start of the year, I never did knuckle down and lose those last few kilos but I'll try again, this coming year. On a brighter note, I did start learning German in Duolingo and I've only missed a handful of days, this whole year (I'm currently on a 262 day 'streak'), plus I started an online guitar course, which I'm enjoying although I need to bring the same discipline to that as I have to the German.

Ideally, this evening, we'd have maintained our habit (not quite tradition) of going over to Rosie and Tim's for drinks but taxi requirements - i.e. us taxiing teenagers - put paid to that for this year. Instead we had a quiet evening in. Neither of us is particularly excited by New Years's Eve and we were asleep before midnight.

I took this photo as I was waiting for the Minx at Oxenholme station. On a good day, you can't beat the light at this time of year. 

****
-8.8 kgs
Reading: 'Plan For Chaos' by John Wyndham. I used to love Wyndham's books as a teenager and heaven only knows how many times I've read 'The Chrysalids' but I've never heard of this early novel before. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.