Hallelujah

It certainly was a Hallelujah moment when I woke up this morning to raindrops and this was on top of a big storm last night.  Thunder and lightening, the whole works.  I can't even start to tell you what a relief it is to see the rain.  It is the longest drought that I can remember since I've been living at Wombat Hollow and that's 20 years.  That may not seem a long time in the scheme of things but the affect it has had on the wildlife and the native flora has been dramatic.

The feed bowls on the deck were water logged this morning but the new ones I placed out the back yesterday were really good.  They are a long trough with holes in the bottom and the water drained away.  It still meant the pellets were softened but still edible so I'll change the other two bowls over tomorrow morning to the trough style (see extra).  As you can see the "Pop Up Cafes" at Wombat Hollow have very generous nutritious servings :)  The rocks in the bucket are to hopefully avoid them being knocked over!!

A big day tomorrow with the Bob Cat going into action to clear the bushes we need to cut down to make the mini fire breaks.  I'm going to gt Mick the Bob Cat driver to make a couple of nice flat pads which will be strategically placed for me to put the new Hide.  Woohoo, those little birds won't know what hit them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.