Dangerous heights

This morning I spotted the crane that was caught up in the helicopter accident during yesterday morning's rush hour. It's awful: two people were killed and many injured. As you can see, the building is very tall and it was misty yesterday, and so its top was hidden from view. I was quite chilled to notice the building during my walk to work, although it's deceiving - the building is quite a way down the river from where I took the photo and I would have been nowhere near it if I'd been at the office yesterday. I'm amazed that the crane is still attached to the side of the building, although you can see that cables have snapped.

It was a bit of a methodical, meticulous day, with lots of talk about the snow. Sure enough, it was snowing by the time I left work. I'd stayed so late to finish my part of a book that's going to production early next week that a colleague and I had to keep moving around to make the lights switch on. We enjoyed a good chat, too, which was nice because we don't get the chance to speak during the scheduled working day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.