Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Snow!

Well, last night's theatre visit wasn't too successful. *Apologies for another Muzak rant!*

I have been going to the Lyceum for years, having a peaceful drink in the bar before the show, but last night, lo and behold, there was MUZAK! And muzak of a particularly, jangly, screechy kind, possibly something a 14 year old might like.

Now, if you're going to have background music, then you should really think of your audience, not just what the barmen like (not that they were 14 year olds). The majority of the theatre audience are mature adults, many of them having been in those mature years for a fair while (ie old codgers). Do they like pop music? NO! Some classical music would be more appropriate. Though I for one find classical muzak offensive too. It's supposed to be listened to live, or on Very Good Sound System.

I asked the barman. No, they haven't had it for years, but they're trying it out again. Why? To encourage more folk to come? I left the premises and went across to the peace and quiet of the Filmhouse for my pre-theatre refreshments. Added to that, I didn't like the play.

But hey! There was lovely snow when we came out!

So today, after my email complaint to the management of the Lyceum (a letter is probably better), we walked into town in search of a snowy blip. It hadn't snowed any more during the night, but there was plenty of the white stuff on the Meadows. And dozens of snowmen. Some daft students had spent a lot of time and energy last night making the biggest snowballs (a metre in diameter) and rolled them under the jawbone (there's a whale's jawbone erected, hence Jawbone Walk). There were several of them, maybe they were going to barricade the walkway.

I could see all the sledgers away over at the hilly bit, but wandered on into town. When I could see that most of the snow was gone in town, I headed back to the action.

What fun there was. This was well into the afternoon, and I'm sure kids were up and wanting out in the snow at the crack of dawn, but there were still loads of families around. You can see that there's not much snow - just enough for a wee slide. I stood at the bottom and clicked away. Which was actually quite hazardous, as wee kids can't steer. In fact one wee lad bumped into the pole.

The shots were dull, so I fiddled with the exposure compensation. This fiddling with settings is all quite new to me, so it's all trial and error. But fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.