Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Well, Hello boys!

Swimming before 8am. Horror of horrors - the RADIO was on the pool area!! Of course, with all the splashing, it was almost inaudible, but not to my attuned ears. Also, I was very near the offending speakers. I left the gym last year because of the incessant loud head banging jangle that they played - my own ipod with music I wanted to listen to was drowned out.

I spoke to one of the attendants. A kind of grumpy chap, I always thought (well, it can't be that nice picking up hairs and plasters in showers all day) but he was quite jovial. He suggested I fill in a 'comments' page on the way out. Which I did. With a couple of other suggestions to improve the facilities. I do hope the speakers were just turned on by mistake, as they have the local radio on in the office and foyer area.

Timely it was, as I had my meeting of Pipedown, a few souls who meet regularly and write and complain about the ever pervasive muzak eg in bookshops, doctors' and dentists' waiting rooms, banks and even hospitals. I was able to tell them of my single-handed success (I'm claiming it as such) in getting the 'festive muzak' turned off in Tescos in Hove. We had our meeting in the peace and quiet of the Portrait Gallery cafe. A scone was resisted.

I was told that M&S muzak system is broken, so for the first time in years, I had a browse and complimented every attendant I saw on the peace and quiet.

I found some almonds in the cupboard this morning, so I popped them in my new camera bag. I suspect I will have to put them back and buy peanuts... I KNEW that I was BOUND to see a squirrel, and I could then get them to come near and to stay awhile and I could get a nice close up.

It was the most beautiful day. I walked through Princes Street Gardens (West) and not a bloomin' squirrel was seen!! Can you believe it? The little blighters creatures are normally everywhere.

So I had to go back to the streets for my shot today. I quite like the symmetry in this one - the two ladies, the two likely lads, all peering through half closed eyes... Though I think the bloke on the left should get rid of those jeans! He's a very good advert for banning all but plain denim. None of this having-just-sat-on-white-paint malarky, or in this case, random darker bits in embarrassing places. Just denim jeans.

We're off to the theatre tonight. I think we'll be coming home in a blizzard - it's on its way!

PS: Weigh in: I lost 1 kg this week. But it sounds more as 2lb 3.3oz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.