Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Blip first. Then eat.

First in the pool again this morning! In my haste, I was rushing progressing at speed (not allowed to rush) to the pre-pool showers, goggles on head - NO! Goggles in hand! What's on head? Woolly hat! A very public senior moment narrowly averted.

I did 10 lengths in the first 8 minutes. This would translate to... er... more than 30 lengths in half an hour if I kept going with no stopping. Well, I did keep going, really trying with my arms, but I lost count. My mind wanders, and I was thinking about higher things - the state of the world / Britain in the EU / climate change / poached eggs and muffins for breakfast. Unfortunately, there were no muffins at the shop, so bagels had to do.

The snow has melted. :-(

So I just decided to have an indoor day in my cupboard dark room. Last night I was making a salad, but kept these nice peppers, thinking I might blip them first. After lots of trial and errors, using my new flashgun too, on various settings, I've come back to the torchlight one.

I took the top of the torch off to use just the wee halogen bulb, but wanted to start and finish the light trail inside the frame. I eventually managed this by putting a black glove over the bulb at the beginning and again at the end. When I had finished, I discovered that I had broken the wee bulb by grabbing it too tightly.

My initial impulse was to crop the picture to the top of the light trails. But then my wee bulb would have died in vain, as that was what I was trying to avoid. So I didn't.

I am quite excited about my new Adult Education courses starting this week. Bird Watching starts next week. One of the objectives of this course is to ' increase my powers of observation and fitness'. Well, I think I'll be getting an E for those. But I hope to do well in 'fieldcraft' whatever that is...

The other course is 'Edinburgh Zoo' on Tuesday. I see one of the aims is to 'Design a suitable environment for appropriate care of a chosen species and incorporating the needs of visitors'. I suppose money is no object? I also see it's a 'series of lectures'. Hmmm. Well, at least it'll be warm and dry. And I was hoping we'd be let loose in the zoo afterwards.

Cute animal blips coming up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.