early one morning

And not "just as the Sun was rising..."  I spied this rather incongruous Art Deco building in the centre of town.  This place continues to surprise me.

I have taken, each weekday morning at around 7.30, to driving the car to a free all-day car park not far from the house.  We are still living on a building site and will continue to do so for the next couple of months.  There are trucks, contractors, visitors and so on, coming and going and it's easier for them - and me - if I move the car until they finish for the day.

The prospect of going out quite so early on a cold Winter's morning originally filled me with horror.  But I have now come to accept it.  Gladly in fact.  I'm beginning to get a feel for the place as it comes alive.  

On the way back to the house I call into the Co-op for some bread.  We're still living a bit hand-to-mouth as we unpack, rearrange cupboards and just generally get ourselves organised in this new house with its new way of life.  So we tend to run out of things quite quickly.

I find myself joining in a conversation about holidays as I wait at the checkout.  I talk to two dogs waiting patiently outside the shop.  I nod to the street cleaner.  

Anniemay notices a change in me.  Speaking of which - she would like it to be known that now the drainage problems have been sorted out, she has had a shower and she is, once again, fragrant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.