Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Gertrude’s saddle

Unfortunately this was not the final ascent of the saddle, (as is so often the way with these mountains) because it involved slightly scary scrambling up rocks with chains. Arrived at a beautiful lake up there to find the last stretch was yet more rocks and chains. As it was a case of descending the same route I decided to stop there on account of some strange dizzy, ground shifting episodes I was having, like I had just come off a boat. Glad I made that decision as it wasn’t much fun getting down just that section, apart from that it was a really enjoyable hike and my fitness was feeling much improved. Stunning scenery all around although I did miss the view over to Milford Sound which was a bit disappointing but I suspect there may only have been mist to see anyway.
Found a lovely campsite nearby for the night and my bed in the back is looking good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.