Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Third time's the charm?

Or, perhaps: always look on the bright side...?
I woke early this morning, after having slept really bad throughout the night. Like a tumble dryer, if you know what I mean?
Last night I didn't set the alarm because I thought the weather would be crap, as they've said on the news, so I could have a sleep in... yeah, right! Woke up at 7 o'clock and didn't bother to try and sleep any more. Looked outside and there was a clear sky, so I checked when sun was going to rise and decided - after the first cup of tea - that I wanted to go out to the stone bridge and capture it in morning light. So I put my clothes on, took my camera and went out the door. Lovely weather... sun was shining with a warm glow and I just enjoyed being outside. Came down to the road that passes the bridge and took a photo of some straw with frost. Then the batteries died. I turned the camera off, that can help when the batterie indicator shows half battery strength left. So I tried again, no good. I went to the point were I wanted to take the photo of the bridge and tried again, no... not a chance. Since I had been fooled by the battery indicator I had no spares with me. Oh, well, I thought. I got out, I tried, the bridge is not going anywhere and there will be other sunny days a head. So I walked home again, passed the bridge and there was mist on the small creak... beautiful! So I stood there and just enjoyed it for a while. When I came home and emptied my pockets I realized that I have had my iPhone with me... why in the world didn't I use that when I was outside?? I started giggling a bit over my silliness.
The photo I managed to take before the batteries died was crap so I thought I would go out a bit later during the day.
Thought I'd try sunset instead, checked when sunset should occur and went out in good time before. New batteries in the camera... When I came outside the sun was still shining, when I came closer to the bridge I saw a dark grey cloud starting to cover the sun. I hurried to the spot were I wanted to take the photo, passed the people you see on the bridge (they had a cam recorder with them and were doing something that I don't know) the sun disappeared behind the dark grey cloud and as I came to the spot, snow begun to fall...and then turned into a snow storm. I took a couple of photos, put the camera down in the bag and started to walk home looking more and more like a snow man. When I came half way to the bridge the snow storm was diminishing and just a few flakes were still falling. The light came back, dark cloud had disappeared. By then the lack of sleep was getting to me and I just wanted to go home. So, this is what became of todays photo excursions... And, I can promise you not to show the bridge for a while. ;) But, I still have to take the shot of the bridge from this spot in sunshine! Not giving up! :D
So, third time wasn't the charm, but if the batteries had worked or if I'd remembered to use my iPhone instead, I wouldn't have gotten out twice this day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.