Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Perfect watering hole

As requested Phil. Well the good thing about being a dithering, indecisive person is that you are free to make things up as you go along. With trail and road closures, landslides and flooding in the places I was planning to go I spent a good amount of time this morning looking at radar images on the met service. Having concluded it was a 5/6 hr drive to the world of clear skies I set off in the opposite direction to that which I had previously imagined. The pastures I had been envisaging were recently converted lakes and I was mightily pleased after 5hrs to see the mists clearing so am now an hr North of Dunedin in a most temperate campsite, going by the name Glencoe. Not only does it have a refreshing river but also friendly campers, cool converted buses and some good music playing. Makes a nice change from the serious hiker places I have been staying despite its misleading name.
Stopped to wander around New Zealand’s version of Edinburgh but was too out the habit of cities to make it out of the car, another time perhaps. Will spend a couple of days exploring the coast while the rain in the South does its thing and then do a bit of backtracking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.