Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Thanks, Robert!

As I sat on the bike this morning, looking out at the horizontal blizzard outside, I texted Robert to advise him to stay at home. He texted back to say that he was disappointed, so we went ahead. In fact, they set off in bright sunshine, Archie in his coat (grudgingly) and Robert well togged up. Of course, about ten minutes after this, the horizontal blizzard resumed. And so on throughout the morning. They came back two hours later drookit and muddy. We really really appreciated Robert's stoicism this morning! Archie, after his bath, stayed at home with his bone while we popped out for lunch.

We walked round to Black Ivy. They had 33% off their new menu if they were given feedback. Feedback? I love giving feedback! I often give it even if it's unwanted. Of course, as we walked there, the sunny day suddenly turned into a blizzard...

Anyway, we both had delicious meals. The old favourites were there, including fish and chips and steak and ale pie, but I tried the 'balsamic chicken with sticky wild mushroom sauce'' and it was just the best meal I’ve had in quite some time. JR enjoyed her 'tandoori king prawn curry and wild rice' but will have my one next time. Walked home, well pleased, blizzard-less. (3,199 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.