Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More fresh snow during the night. I took Archie out in the morning, and he was off-lead the whole way, even waiting to cross the road when I told him. But if he saw a cat across the road, he’d be off after it, so it’s just a treat during these snowy no traffic days. His pals Bert and Brian are always off the lead, but they’ve got some road sense.

JR had a zoom session, and I watched a bit of tennis. My bike has been abandoned in the mornings now that tennis is on...

Then we went out - it was SO glorious! Fresh soft snow, the blue-est of blue skies, NO wind! In fact, I had to take my hat off, and we sat in the sun for ages. It’s ironic heartbreaking that the best snow in decades and Scotland’s ski fields are all forced SHUT.

We had to sit for a while, because I was tempted to the wee caravan, which has been doing a roaring trade in every lockdown. They do an epic hot chocolate, which is topped with toasted marshmallows, and it was most enjoyable. It could be a regular stop now...

We stopped at Rufus’s gate for a chat with his mum, but her garden furniture is covered in huge snow drifts, so we didn’t stop too long.

We were just back and I was washing the ice balls off Archie’s legs, when Robert texted and asked if he’d like to go out for a walk. Robert has missed coming for him the last couple of weeks, and was worried Archie would forget him - but he got a good welcome! 

I’ve included a few extras, because it was just so splendid out today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.