Squirrel Day

Finally...it is here! A day set aside to honor the world's most amazing animal. NSAD. National Squirrel Appreciation Day.

I was up at 8:30 to set out my buffet. Crackers with peanut butter, unsalted peanuts, sunflower seeds, and a stale granola bar. What animal...however amazing...could resist that spread? I retreated to my stalker window.

9:00, 9:30, 10:00, 10:30, 11:00. Nothing, nada, zero, zilch. I found myself singing..."Where have all the squirrelys gone...long time passing."

It is 14F here. I don't like to subject my camera to those outside conditions...worrying about switching between hot and cold. So...I was resigned to my window. Finally...one squirrel...one solitary squirrel...showed up.

My background picture is from a new feeder I have made from a picture I took. I hope it attracts both rodents and birds. But...not today.

I had visions in bed last night of how I thought National Squirrel Appreciation Day would go. Sally the squirrel, on her hind legs waltzing up my arm. Scotty the squirrel, taking a kernel of corn from between my teeth. Scramble the squirrel finally shows...so I juggle all 3 squirrels with my camera on self-timer. NOW...THAT'S A DAY!!!

I'm sitting here at my computer, and glancing at the prepared buffet. Still nothing. I'm taking the N off of the NSAD, and just making it SAD. Sad that more squirrels didn't show up at the soiree...but...somehow...I think I'll get over it.

Check out my year ago shot by clicking on the thumbnail to the right>>>>. A much better squirrel shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.