Highway Robbers!

You know that nice calm feeling you get towards the end of the night when your day has been fairly mundane and uneventuful? Well thats not how my day ended yesterday!
There I was sitting at my laptop about 1am chilling out playing some boring game when the phone rings! On the line was no1 son. Previously he had left his car parked half on the pavement near the underground entrance to the flats next door. It wasnt in the way but one or two of the more sniffy occupants sometimes leave a note on his car not to park there. These are folks whom few have a bloody car and those that do can park in this humogous underground carpark and still they moan if we park any of our cars in the wee cul de sac by our house which was there before their chicken coops were built!
Anyhows I digress!
This same son had at some point ran his fuel tank dry on the way back from Download last year so the car has been acting up ever since and on this occassion the battary had gone flat so he needed a jump start.
I digress again!
Anhows as is his habit being a night owl like myelf, he dicides to get his pal to jump start the damn car at 1am! The car sta;rts and DJ gets out to put the bonnet down , shuts the car door and lo and behold does the car no go and central lock itself with key still in ignition and engine still running!!
Panic! There never was a second set of keys so what does he do? ..he phones mum!
"Can you no dicontect the battary" I say. "no cause you need in to the car to pull the bonnet release catch stupid" says he. " can you no stuff something up your exhaust to stop the engine" says she who used to do this as a party piece when young! "no I dont want to harm the engine" bit late for that me thinks given he buggered it up by running it dry
Brainwave!!! I will phone the AA
I then googled it as you do nowadays and got all the numbers for every Alcoholics anonymous in the country!! ( much to be said for the old telephone book) Finally I get the right number & explain the situation at by now almost 2am and having read that membership was going to be £38, I thought thats fine" No problem" says the nice lady from the AA when I explain the situation "that will be £146 pounds" "what I yell now looking up the number of the other AAs as I may shortly need it to swallow that pill.
"but it says on your site £38 " I protest "ah yes but that doesnt include the call out you require just now" Bastards! they had me over a whisky barrell
"Il phone back" says I thinking he would be cheaper chucking a bloody brick at the thing and getting his keys.
However more googling revealed a company called 911, at first I thought "I had better not be ringing some bloody outpost in Idaho" but it was a nice Glasgow man who said they could do the job for £80 and so it was that the nice 911 man left the warmth apparantly of not just his bed but his girlfriend to come and open my idiot son's car.
Done & dusted by 2.30 am! and here was me thinking I had managed a nice calm day.
Bloody AA can go raffle themselves oh and by the way I also phoned the local Partick cop shop who said if it wasnt causing an obstruction, he should just do a smash and grab job!. Though I bet if he did that, the sniffy creeps next door would have sent for the same cops who would likely then arrest no 1 son for causing a disturbance but thankfully it didnt go there!
Happy blipping all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.