Cloud Tree

Yesterday, one of my colleagues gave me this lovely long pine cone.  Its from a Mexican white pine which is a tree native to the mountains of southern Mexico, but this one of course didn't come from anywhere quite so far away!  Apparently one of the local arboretums has a specimen and many of its cones had been blown off in the storm last weekend.  The cone itself is about 20 cm long and has sticky resin on it which smells beautiful.  

I was interested to read that the scientific name for the tree - ayauhquahuiti, means 'cloud tree' and is derived from Aztec.  Apparently it was one of the most sought after trees for timber in Mexico and provided wood for the furniture and the carpentry industry throughout Mexico.  The majestic large stands of these trees are now, sadly, diminished. 


That's definately more interesting than my day at work so I shall spare the details of that and wish you a happy Friday evening.  I look forward to catching up with your blips tomorrow.  All the very best. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.