Short arms!

You need longer arms to reach the knob to turn for colour mixing.

A trip to London to meet up with A and the children. It didn’t start well with a delayed, overcrowded train and no seat reservation. The station was absolutely heaving when the overloaded train pulled in 30 minutes late.

I took one look, decided that I wasn’t going to stand for 90 minutes, and waited for the next train 15 minutes later. I got a seat and sat huddled in my coat and gloves as the new Azuma was soooo cold.

I had a coffee to warm my fingers then did some crochet to try to restore the circulation. I’d lost feeling in my feet, but they did waggle so a promising sign for the rest of the day.

The loos were closed at Kings Cross, so a walk to the other side of the station to join the queue of about 40 ladies, then the covered walkway to the museums at South Kensington station was closed, so out side to find the route amongst the traffic....I was beginning to think that I should have stayed at home!!!

Only 90 minutes late for our meet up, but A and the children were delighted to see me. It was a good job that I was able to keep them informed by text.

Super fun time in the Science Museum, you are never too old to learn!!! We were just about to stop for refreshments when the alarm went off and we had to evacuate!!!! This is our third visit in 3 years and our second evacuation!!!

In ‘woman on a mission’ mode I quickly gathered up the family and headed over to the V & A cafe. Tea and cake in stunning surroundings raised the spirits and gave my feet a rest. The children hadn’t been there before and were surprised at the decor.

We returned to the Science Museum and finished off with a view of the Medical section. Fascinating and lots of “I remember when we used that / did that / that happened”. The children were enthralled, especially little A when she did a gastroscopy and could see the views on a monitor!!!

The trip home was less traumatic. Train was late, seat reservations were cancelled (I had one), but it was a longer substitute train and plenty of room for everyone. It was warm and I could take my coat off !!!!!!

All in all it was a good day, and plenty of practice in maintaining independence skills, that could easily be lost if I didn’t meet the challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.