Shrewsbury in shut down

A day of weather drama.

My colleague, Becci, tried to get the bus into work and after an hour and a half stuck on the bus, she realised that she’d have to stay on the bus and go straight back home because the roads were becoming impassable.

I avoiding driving because I knew the roads would be gridlock so worked from home until it was dry enough to cycle in. Managed to make it to my school group then popped in to see Lucy for a bit of sustenance before I tackled the ride home.

Town was weird. With most of the roads closed it was eerily quiet, just lots of people out to have a look and take pictures. The damage is devastating but to look at it is weirdly awe inspiring, to see that volume of water.

I rode home but it was pretty hairy. The wind nearly took my bike from under me a couple of times. I was definitely glad to be home and won’t be attempting to get anywhere near town tomorrow. Our town centre stuff is cancelled but I should make it to the outlying school!

For any Shrewsbury folk, this is the view from the English Bridge looking towards the old hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.