Shadows on the Wall

The shadows say it all! Well, they say the sunshine but not the temperature, but beggars can’t be choosers and I think at this point in a pretty ghastly February, I prefer the sunshine.

I spent a lot of the morning visiting daughter#1 in the gallery she looks after on a Saturday and then browsing Waterstones book shop on the hunt for a book to recommend to my book group. It’s my turn next to suggest a book and it’s proving to be a poisoned chalice for everyone when they have to do it.
An easy read is not popular amongst the literary intelligentsia in our group but on the other hand a book too clever for its own good is not particularly welcome either. There is a fine line to be trod. I took notes of various titles, but managed to exit the shop having bought nothing. The pile of unread books on the floor beside my bed is an embarrassing reminder to me of how little I read these days when I have craft work on the go.

So far Jorge has not made an appearance here, but I believe he’s coming with his snow and wind and just in time for the Meadows Marathon tomorrow, when all day there will be runners slogging their way round the park in front of my windows.
If you care to divide 26.2 miles by 1.5 miles, you can see roughly how many circuits the runners do. There is a 5K and a half marathon too which might appeal to those not wishing to appear as human hamsters on a wheel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.