Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

When socks are not just socks :)

Early on in my adult life I guessed that there are no real reasons to wear a tie, except as a sort of uniform for men. I was never opposed to wearing a tie, but I sure wanted my style involved in that decision. To that end I felt that the only reason to wear a tie is to communicate ones taste.

Years later the sock industry, if there is such a thing, began to create interesting sorts of socks. I had gone from white socks in my younger years, to black as I got older. Just black, all the time. Well, when these colourful sock ideas come out, I felt the same way as I did about ties. They are a way to communicate ones personality. 

I started to buy the colourful socks and it was exactly me. Not too much in your face to be offensive, but quietly in the background, making a statement if you will, about my personality.

I haven't looked back. Now people see socks, think of me, and buy them for me. Which I am mostly pleased at.

So today while I was sitting in a meeting, I glanced down and saw my socks. Making me out like a rebel to the culture. I like that I think.

So here's to being different, just a bit, and not in your face. Sort of...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.