a supposedly fun thing I'll be doing again*

I am one of those people who loves to shop for food, though I don't particularly enjoy any other kind of shopping and certainly not the kind where you wander around malls trying on shoes or clothes.

It was with some trepidation, however, that I set out this morning to do a supermarket shop.. It had been a week since I was in a shop, so I didn't really know what to expect. 

There were about 20 people in a queue in the car park at Morrisons, all spaced out nicely. It took about 10 minutes to get into the shop, and in the foyer my trolley was taken aside to be wiped with sanitiser and then handed back. Inside the shop it was all calm and there was plenty of space for people to keep their distance. It was so quiet - no folk standing in the aisles chatting any longer, as they might have done only a week ago. All very sombre. A few people were wearing masks, and some had gloves on.

I was pleased to find plenty of fruit and veg as that was mainly what I'd come for. A few items were limited to 2 or 3 per customer. At the checkout we were spaced out again but I didn't have to wait long. The girl on the till wiped down the checkout with sanitiser between customers.

I'm grateful for the work being done by everyone in the food shops. Thank you. We have enough to keep us going for at least a week now.

* "A supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again" is an essay written by David Foster Wallace about going on a Caribbean cruise. It was originally called "Shipping Out" and you can  read it HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.