Lala's Journal

By Lala

NHS

A social media post a week ago suggesting people ‘clap our careers’ went viral this week and I joined the rest of the UK on our doorsteps to clap and cheer our amazing NHS workers. They are all putting themselves at risk every day caring for the patients with Co Vid 19. It was emotional and my Facebook feed is full of streets around the UK all doing the same. 

We drove today to the fish shop for some essential food supplies in the form of the local catch this morning and the sea bass and mackerel are now in the freezer. They allow only one (two if a couple) in the shop at a time, and have an in and out door, so I felt fairly comfortable. 

Back at home the PC went on, taking 15 minutes to load up! LC belongs to the Treasure Houses of England and I have been in daily contact with the other Education Managers. I am lucky enough to be streets ahead of the them in regards to resources and social media ability and posts. Two of them are working from home, putting in their 8 hours trying to write resources whilst caring for children. One is being coerced into making a video of home learning ideas next week and is still struggling for ideas! I sadly learnt that one has been furloughed until the end of May, and whilst it was a worrying day for her I think the chancellors message this evening of paying furloughed staff 80% of their wages will have helped. Kimberley is still doing a fabulous job of tweeting and Facebook posts with quizzes/challenges etc and I am adapting some of our current material into Leeds Castle at Home books, sheets, trails etc for use over the coming weeks. One school cancelling their trip in May wanted to make a booking now for October, but with no access from home I made a note and told her I would contact her as soon as the castle and schools were open again. 

The day finished when Mr L and I participated in another social media venture - a live streamed virtual pub quiz. Fabulous idea and great fun even though we only got 23/50! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.