About to turn

By jMcLean

It's not easy being green

...so I changed to mono. Not a very exciting shot; this is looking out our front door. Mrs. Tree is there, leafed out now.

A bit glum today, and dark out. This morning I picked up an order of tomato and pepper plants, and two container plantings of geraniums (at the door there), from the horticulture program at I.'s school. This is a semi-annual fundraiser, and so successfully organized with social distancing in mind that I didn't see another soul - just little groupings of plants set along the sidewalk. The big new school building was humming and looked completely deserted; it was a bit creepy. I loaded up and dropped my check in the school's mailbox and drove slowly away. It made me sad, because that's where I. should be right now, in that building doing her bio research, getting ready to go to South Korea. I don't think those opportunities will be easily recovered.

Anyway, the glumness ended when I got home and I. told me that a girl she knew a couple years ago at school had texted for help. Suffice it to say she is on the wait list for placement at a homeless shelter. We'll drive down to Manassas tomorrow to hopefully get her some grocery/gas cards. A reminder to look beyond my own bubble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.