LifeLines

By LifeLines

Warbler country

A sunny day at last.  As is usual, I took Merlin out in the late afternoon.  This is my favourite part of the 'field' where we walk.  It is filled with bramble thickets, grasses and young oak saplings.  At this time of year it is a good spot to stop and listen to the different warblers which have now returned from warmer parts of the world to breed here.  Today I heard willow warblers, chiff-chaffs and white throats.

Andy has spent much of the day putting up a low fence around the flower beds in the back garden.  The aim is to stop Merlin wandering over the flower beds and compacting the soil and generally damaging the plants.  I am not sure if it was in protest at this, but Andy told me that as he was doing the fencing, he found Merlin sunbathing in one of the raised beds.  No doubt it was warm in there with the wood and dark soil.  No harm done other than a few squashed lettuce seedlings!  

After dinner we did a video link with my sister and her family and had a happy hour or so catching up.  Andy did a magic card trick with my niece and nephew and then my nephew then got his magic trick box out and did some tricks for us!

Hoping this finds you all well.  Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.