Companion

My little companion sleeps by my feet as I spend the day at a laptop on Zoom/Skype/Teams calls.

Josh is working flat out on his dissertation due in on Friday. It’s something about big data and machine learning that I don’t quite understand. He’s demonstrating his knowledge and expertise through a Fantasy Football project which I now realise is a brilliant way to do it as it means he can use great visuals and engage his reader/audience in a very compelling way.

I’m so proud of him. After 5 years at an Oxford secondary he was effectively thrown out after the first year of Sixth by a state school grubbing for grades and by email in what I consider a disgraceful way to treat a student. It plunged him into such despair that I stopped going into work as I was afraid to leave him alone and the way he was treated had a long term impact on his confidence and self-belief.

To see him doing so well at University has been wonderful as has seeing his self confidence grow. Not a great time to be graduating and entering the world of work but whatever happens we’ll face it together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.