Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Bird of Paradise

When I was a little girl, Grammie Teele would always comment with tender emotion when she saw these flowers.

She had a unique way of blending my first and middle names. So she would say, "Oh, Care-lan, aren't these Bird of Paradise beautiful?"

I don't really think she was asking for me to answer her as much as she was just making commentary on something she thought was spectacular. I never answered her question because, quite frankly, back then I didn't think they were lovely. As a little girl I thought those flowers looked real pointy and prickily and almost wicked to get tangled in. Now in my adult life I have come to see their beauty--especially when the sample is pristine.

During our walk today, Bob dog and I spotted this one. It has obviously passed its pristine moment and at the end of its life cycle, but I think it is still quite an image of beauty. Maybe I think so because this reminds me of Grammie Teele who brought great stability and beauty to my young life.

I hope you are having a lovely second day of spring. Here in Southern California the rain the weather forecasters predicted never developed. It was a lovely day for a walk through the neighborhood. Good night.

Rosie, aka Carol (Anne)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.