Street Party - 2020 style

Well, we had a street party to commemorate VE day - but nothing like the original in 1945 (which I do remember ) Then there was strict food rationing - no-one had any extra but everyone shared what they had and it seemed like a feast. Mostly children and Mums - the dads were still away. I was only 4 and a half - the war had not affected me much as I knew no other way of life - but I realised there was excitement and happiness that it was over. Today, despite the shortages of some foods recently, people have plenty to celebrate with - but we were  not allowed to mingle and share, we each stayed within our own drives and front gardens, eating and drinking our own afternoon tea and conversed by yelling across the road! It was different anyway !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.