Lala's Journal

By Lala

More.......

Another photo sent to me by Christina from yesterday’s blip. This is my Nana (Elsie)  on the left, with her sister Edie (Christina’s Nana). Christina wasn’t sure if it was Elsie or another sister, Lilian. I took one look and knew. Some people retain every essence of their own self throughout their lives and Elsie is one of them. She was instantly recognisable to me. 

We shampooed the rest of the carpets today, and now that i need to find somewhere to keep the shampooer (the downside of our house is it’s lack of storage) tomorrow’s activity is to clear and rearrange the garage! 

Heard today that our furlough has been extended until the end of June, and then later the Chancellor told us all that the furlough scheme would until October. If the hospitality, tourism and leisure businesses cannot open until much later, something had to be done. I guess that the furlough payments will not cost the government any more than the amounts of job seekers allowance and universal credit would have if they had not taken this action. I have got much better at acceptance this week, and plan at least one activity for each day which helps. I do know that the acceptance is aided by the support that friends and colleagues give each other daily on several WhatsApp groups, zoom calls and text messages. It doesn’t stop me feeling guilty that the few people still working at LC are working harder than usual while we are getting paid to be at home. The grass is always greener........

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.