The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Lockdown Day 51

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

The Prince had a Zoom quiz night with his team so I had arranged to catch up with Kitty Cat.

I opened a bottle of wine, poured a small glass and left The Prince in the kitchen while I went off to have my chat in the spare room.

The first indication that The Prince’s quiz night was going to get messy was when I came back an hour later for a refill. To find the bottle was empty!

So I repeated the process. By the time I finished my second glass (and my chat with Kitty Cat), The Prince has been VERY thirsty and bottle 2 was almost empty. Everyone doing the quiz was absolutely hammered and having a great night.

Conversely, my (useless) department social committee sent an email last week asking everyone to participate in a fun-filled social event (“it’s important to stay connected”). The options were:

1. A quiz
2. Riddle solving (offline)
3. A virtual escape room
4. Other (suggestions)

Let’s be clear, none of this sounds remotely appealing:

1. It’s IT so all the quiz questions would be about Star Wars

2. Offline riddle solving seems to defeat the purpose of it being a social activity,

3. A virtual escape room seems slightly insensitive given the current situation.

4. I was tempted to suggest The Fear - lockdown style. This activity starts with shots in Bar Zoom at lunchtime and ends with waking up several hours later, slumped over the kitchen table (with a coaster stuck to your face for good measure) and no memory of anything other than telling your boss he’s a tw@t.

Then realising that the camera is still on!

I should be on that social committee.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.