Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A hot one!

A little too much excitement today! No wonder I’m totally stuffed - 12,783 steps!! (And no easy peasy ‘steps’ on the bike) 9.2km!! Too tired to set up the barbecue in the evening.

What a super day it was - our first positively HOT day. Actually, too hot in the garden, but perfect under the trees in the Hermitage, where we walked in the afternoon.

Our friend S came round for a socially distanced cuppa (she even brought her own mug) and a bit of a catch up. Archie was very interested in the contents of her bag, but he kept having to go inside to get out of the heat.

When our visitor had departed, we set off for a walk. The last few days, when it hasn’t been sunny, I haven’t been tempted out for a walk, but no such pathetic excuse today. 

We met our neighbours there, out doing school work - an alphabet scavenger hunt. They tagged along with us and we all went to the river, so that Archie could have a drink and a paddle (I quite fancied both myself). We helped them with the scavenger hunt, though ‘Vizsla’ was a cheat - we didn’t see one. I contributed ‘Nettles’.

On the way back, they decided to walk on home at their own pace - I was really slow and kept stopping to sit down or take photos. I spent ages trying out the ‘Portrait’ setting on the iPhone. (Extras) 

It was a looong haul up the road home. I don’t think I’ll do that again - I’ll drive down and park, now that when we can. It’s just too far. I really needed a long soak in a warm bath. Hang on - we removed the bath... 

I made do with a collapse on the sofa with an Almond Magnum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.