Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 59 - film camera

A couple of weeks ago I found this Leica film camera amongst the many, many cameras at my FIL’s house. I wanted to test it out before I sold it so I bought a film and have just had the prints back.

My kids were incredulous at the faffing about, but I was excited when the envelope dropped on the mat. Needless to say the memories of disappointment came flooding back, 30 out of 36 holiday snaps absolutely rubbish, and with warning stickers on them so the developers could pass the blame onto the photographer!

A short rant now. I had a covid test a couple of days ago - it came back today as negative but three different health professionals, including a GP and an ENT surgeon have all told me that the self administered tests that are making up the government’s numbers are completely and utterly useless and a waste of time and money. I see people in other countries being tested by health professionals in full PPE and we are expected to administer the test ourselves in a car park, having had it thrown in the passenger seat by someone not even wearing a mask. If you have had the test you will know how hard it is to stick a swab down your own throat! A wrongly administered test is more dangerous than no test. I shall be super cautious and act as if I am infectious but I have the luxury of being able to work from home - otherwise I could be forced back to work quite possibly spreading the virus. I don’t expect our government to work miracles but surely the cornerstone of tracking, tracing and testing must be accurate testing?

Ps - my only symptoms are loss of smell and a metallic taste in the mouth.

Rant over. Happy Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.