BRIANW

By BRIANW

Swarfega & Straw Hat, Maidstone

Just had a quick trip into Maidstone for the first time in weeks. The vast majority of shops were closed, some with shutters pulled down or even the windows boarded up. It felt so strange to be in town on a Saturday and it being far too quiet.
Today's shot was taken through a locked gate in a courtyard off the main drag. I loved the incongruous elements in the battered van's windscreen, especially the rather beautiful straw hat.
Extra is called "Double 1 Nails". I liked how the woman passing had her eyes shut - like she was imagining what it would be like to have her nails done again. I know what that feels like - I'm dying to have my hair cut again, it's far too long, but I don't think it will be happening any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.