Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Caffeine!

Another lovely day, weather-wise. And activity-wise. (11,586 steps)

Two loads of washing out, and I managed to flag down the rubbish truck. It had sailed past the bin outside our gate, which had blown across the road in the high winds a few days ago, and was in the wrong place. But I heard them coming back again (not their usual route) and stood out in the road.

I pointed to the bin, but he said he ‘couldn’t reach it’ (it was right at the gutter). 
‘You’ll have to get out and push it a bit’ I suggested. They weren’t keen. The passenger said he was ‘injured’, so presumably was being paid to just keep the driver company. 

My offer to help galvanised embarrassed them into action, and they (we) pushed it back to its designated painted KEEP CLEAR spot, which they hadn’t noticed. 

We then went for a walk to the Hermitage. We love taking visitors there, and we love even more taking residents who’ve lived in this area for twenty years but have  never been there. 

I drove down to the duck pond and met them there. We walked round to see the six cygnets, they’re maybe a couple of weeks old. (Extra) We had a gorgeous walk through the main path, following the river right to the other end. I was spurred on with the thought of a coffee at the now open wee cafe. This revived me somewhat, and the caffeine flowed straight to my knees, so I was able to walk back without too much problem. We took the short cut through the paddock, and I hopped into the car and whizzed back home, which was BLISS.

Later, the three wee girls (and their mum) from upstairs were in the back garden, enjoying the sunshine. They were keen to see Archie, but we’ve always kept him inside when they’re out there - he barks like crazy, because it’s HIS back garden. However, they were ready for him, and he soon obliged with some of his tricks, which delighted them. 

A G&T in the sun, and tea outside. Feels like summer!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.