The streets are empty...

The weather was lovely today and the world - or at least our small part of it - had a bank holiday feel. There were loads of people down at Devil's Bridge and it must be said that now that Cummings' transgressions have been publicised without subsequent apology - quite the reverse, in fact - there's an element of "fuck it" in the air. 

Having worked all day and then walked with Dan, I decided that for dinner we'd just grab a Chinese takeaway. This photo was taken while I was waiting in the market square for Dan to collect it. Normally on a sunny bank holiday - or today's analogue thereof - the streets of Kirkby Lonsdale would be heaving but even the revolutionary mood couldn't open the pubs. 

It still looks deserted.

Later in the evening I had a chat with Ash and John (see extra). It's extraordinary how this lockdown has had the counterintuitive effect of me seeing more of some of my friends than I normally would. These two excellent characters both live in London and I usually see them only once or twice a year.

(The line "the streets are empty" was knocking around my head until I remembered it was from Simple Minds' 'Belfast Child'. Just check out this amazing live rendition with Sinéad O'Connor singing the lines from 'She Moved Through The Fair', the song on which Simple Minds based their tune.)

****
-11.1 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.