Heron

I was chatting to Dom on FaceTime the other morning and inter alia we were talking about the things that we really miss whilst we're under this unprecedented lockdown. And we'd both come to similar conclusions, although significantly Dom missed sitting in Rosie Posie's (a café in Chorley), while I missed having breakfast at Rosie Posie's with him

But it was an illuminating conversation; going out for a coffee or beer with friends really is the thing I miss the most. 

It wasn't quite the same but this morning I went for a walk with my friend, Chris. Normally we'd meet for a coffee in the morning at the Royal or in the Royal Barn for a evening beer. It didn't matter, though: it was lovely to be in his company. There's something in the very minutiae of someone's voice that isn't communicated by Zoom or Skype or Teams or whatever. 

And there are some upsides to the current situation: in nearly thirty years, I think this is the first time we've been for a walk together. It was lovely. We should do it again.

As we walked along by the Lune, I saw this marvellous heron, who, I'm afraid, must suffer the indignity of being added to my wildlife photography portfolio. Sorry, pal. 

****
-12.0 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.