Before

I'm a lucky boy.

A long hot day of assignments and phone calls. A swim with Missy seemed an ideal plan.
We'd seen some people at a 'new to us' swimming spot last week, so we thought we'd take a look. Arriving at this very remote spot there were already a couple at the large pool.but 20m away there was another.
I've done the courses and I'm not (always) daft. I walked the length and back, I zigzagged the deep bit. I swam it. I had a slow dive. All good. Then I duck dived again.
Not good. One too many powerful strokes underwater and I hit a submerged fin of rock I'd managed to completely miss on my inspection, forehead first.
Ouch, splutter, more ouch, blood, dizzy.
Fortunately MrsIttH paid attention at all those first aid courses, blood flow mostly stopped, back to car, brief stop at home to clean and properly dress a 4cm laceration and then off to a totally empty Penrith hospital.
Head glued back together, mild concussion and whiplash.

I'm a lucky boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.