On the way to Puddlemire Lane

Like my runs, most of my walks with Dan are circular by nature. Occasionally, the Minx will drop me off somewhere and I'll run home but usually I'm self-sufficient. 

Today, she was planning to go to the garden centre to pick up a chimnea. They are operating a 'click and collect' system - which appears to be as much to do with some renovations as C19 - and she had a pick up slot at five-fifteen.

Taking this into account, I saw an opportunity for me and Dan to walk somewhere different, this afternoon, on our weekly long walk. My plan was that we'd finish somewhere on the Minx's route to the garden centre so I suggested we walk out to Farleton. 

Dan agreed readily enough (I'm not sure he was even clear where Farleton is but he's an accommodating fellow) and we set off around two-thirty, walking through Low Biggins and High Biggins before heading off across the fields. The first part was the reverse of a route we did a couple of week's ago but at Sealford Lane we continued to the top of the road and then carried on up Newbiggin Lane.

Somewhere along the side of Farleton Knott, this road becomes the wonderfully named Puddlemire Lane, the end of which was as far as I'd planned but pretty much our destination. I'd actually worried we wouldn't get there in good time but we had made fine progress and we had quite a bit of time to spare so after consulting the map, we made our way to Dovehouses Lane and had the small picnic I'd packed by the stream. It was lovely.

And later, after we'd been collected by the Minx, picked up the chimnea, and had a bite to eat, we all sat down by the Minx's Potting Bar and enjoyed a drink and the warmth from the new chimnea.

****
-10.2 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.